Lifeboat Olympic Challenge – Week 6

21 Nov

imageDon’t worry people, despite my lack of an update last week I’m still swimming towards my target!

First off, big thank yous to Ros, Peter and David for their generous donations – total is now up to £175!

I realised a very valuable thing just this week – sometimes you need to take a step back to move a few steps forward. I’ve been very focussed on interval training (typically I’ll do 8 x 200m, with ~25sec rests) and the odd non-stop mile, but little to no technique work. As we know, swimming is a very technique based sport so it’s really important to maintain that.

On Wednesday I decided to just swim an easy mile without my Tempo Trainer, focussing entirely on technique (drills work just as well here). The main thing I found was that I’d slipped back into not rolling enough to be able to utilise my larger pecs and lats for the pull. If you’re not using these then you’re using smaller muscles that just won’t give you enough power or last as long.

Sure enough, once I’d refreshed that part of my technique the times I’d been struggling with the week before were easy. In my interval set on Friday I had my tempo set on 24.25 secs a length, but was actually able to do 24 secs consistently for the 8 sets. Here’s the thing – if I can manage 24.25 secs over 64 lengths, I’ll be into the 25 mins. Pretty crazy considering my goal this year was to complete a mile in under 30mins (open water admittedly)!!

So what do you think – into the 25s by Xmas?

One Response to “Lifeboat Olympic Challenge – Week 6”

  1. Mother Eagle November 22, 2011 at 9:30 AM #

    defo! 🙂 xx

Leave a Reply

